Riley Strube of Cabot Middle School South was named one of the 2014 Arkansas top youth volunteers by the Prudential Spirit of Community Awards, a national program that recognizes young people for outstanding acts of volunteerism.

Riley is a fifth-grader and serves as a "dance buddy" at local dance studio to help students with disabilities. Each week, Riley attends the I Can! Dance class to help students learn new steps, follow directions, communicate with other dancers and develop the confidence to perform on stage. Riley has also recruited her friends to volunteer in the class. She lives in North Little Rock.

Rachel Deeds of Fayetteville also received the award.

Chosen as Arkansas’s Distinguished Finalists were Sam Harris of Greebrier, Preston Hyatt of Holiday Island, Kaylee Laster of Pea Ridge, and Raygan Sylvester of North Little Rock.

The Prudential Spirit of Community Awards partners with the National Association of Secondary School Principals to honor two students from each state — one middle school and one high school — for their volunteer service. State honorees receive $1,000, an engraved silver medallion and an all-expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C., to tour landmarks, meet top volunteers, attend an awards ceremony at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of National History and visit with their congressional representatives.

U.S. Sens. Mark Pryor and John Boozman issued a press release honoring the students.