Poll workers who felt the May 22 preferential primary turnout was low found themselves with even less to do Tuesday for the runoff election. The 1,784 votes cast meant that, with about 33,500 people registered to vote, fewer than 5 percent of the voters in Lonoke County chose the Republican candidate for sheriff, and fewer helped choose the Democrat candidate for Congress.

John Staley, nominated as the Republican sheriff candidate, said he appreciated the “clean” campaigning that occurred. “Everybody kept it above-board and civil,” he said.

In November, Staley and Democratic nominee Dean White will compete for election as sheriff. The winner of the general election will take over in January 2013 for Sheriff Jim Roberson, who chose not to run for re-election.

In the Democratic runoff for the nomination for Arkansas’ 1st District congressional seat, Prosecuting Attorney Scott Ellington of Jonesboro won the nomination, despite the wide margin given Clark M. Hall of Marvell by Lonoke County voters. In the districtwide results, Ellington won the nomination with a 9,973-9,697 final in unofficial returns.

Ellington will campaign to unseat incumbent GOP Congressman Rick Crawford of Jonesboro in the November general election.

Uncertified results of the June 12 Lonoke County preferential primary runoff elections:

U.S. Congress, District 01 (Democrat):

Clark M. Hall - 247 (55.76 percent)

Scott Ellington - 196 (44.24 percent)

Lonoke County Sheriff (Republican):

John Staley - 788 (59.07 percent)

Jason Wilkinson - 546 (40.93 percent)


Total registered Lonoke County voters: 33,445

Democratic ballots cast: 445

Republican ballots cast: 1,322

Total voter turnout: 1,784 (5.33 percent)

All returns are unofficial until certified by the Lonoke County Election Commission.