More than 23,000 votes were cast in Lonoke County in the 2012 General Election this year, according to Lonoke County Election Commission chairman Tim Blair said Tuesday night.

Blair said the previous high was around 18,000.

As of 10 p.m. Tuesday, there were about 500 early ballots cast in the city of Lonoke that hadn’t been counted. They were paper ballots because of the Lonoke Township Constable’s race between Adam Ingle and George Bailey being left off the electronic ballot.

However, those votes will not affect the county-wide races.

County Sheriff: Republican John Staley 14,965, Democrat Dean White 7,386.

County Clerk: Republican Larry Clarke 12,509, Incumbent Democrat Dawn Porterfield 9,712.

County Treasurer: Republican Patti Weathers 14,210, Incumbent Democrat Karol DePriest, 8,184.

For Cabot City Council Ward 3, Position 1, Angie Armstrong Hoschouer won re-election with 3,528 votes. Challenger Irene C. Ernst received 3,301 votes.

Austin Alderman Ward 1, Position 6: Matthew Sheets 438, D.G. Hammons 177.

Carlisle City Council Ward 1 Position 2: Chad Bennett 519, Joe Cunningham 260.

Carlisle City Council Ward 2, Position 2: W.H. Kittler 395, Marla Cunningham 388.