UPDATE: The severe thunderstorm watch for Lonoke County has expired.

• • •

A severe thunderstorm watch is in effect through 8 p.m. for much of eastern Arkansas.

Counties included in the watch are Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Grant, Independence, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Lonoke, Monroe, Ouachita, Prairie, Sharp, Union, White and Woodruff counties.