After six special called meetings and after an hour executive session about one hour, the Lonoke school board on Monday hired Suzanne Bailey as the new Lonoke School District superintendent.

Bailey is the Waldron School District superintendent.

“She is full of energy, ready for new challenges and ready to take the district into the future,” school board member Chris James said. “I think she is a great choice.”

Board member Eddie Pennington said the district had excellent candidates. Board president Darrel Park said Bailey is the best person for the job at this time.

The board also approved the hiring of Stephanie Testerman for a high school science teacher position, Brandi Cordell for a third-grade teacher position and Jillian Pounders form a primary/elementary art teacher position.

The board approved resignations of middle school assistant principal Virginia Franklin, bus driver Roberta Zajac, middle school social studies teacher Courtney Swiney and middle school literacy teacher Kari Yamber.

In other business, the board approved for the superintendent and board members Ray Kelleybrew and Matt Boyles as disbursing officers for all district checks. Superintendent John Tackett said the signatures are placed on a digital computer device, so their names are on every district check used for purchases.

The board approved to officially retire equipment as needed so it can be removed from inventory. Retired assets include the old high school [that was demolished], four school buses, two digital cameras, four computers, an intercom, two furnaces and two compressors. The items totaled about $1.23 million in value.

The board approved the proposed 2013-14 school year budget of expenditures with a tax levy for fiscal year beginning July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014. The budget must be sent to the state Department of Education.

The proposed budget of expenditures with the tax rate rate:

• Salary fund — $7.90 million;

• Instruction — $2.27 million;

• Maintenance and operations — $1.92 million;

• Dedicated maintenance and operations — none;

• Pupil transportation — $683,090;

• Other operating expenses — $610,985;

• Nonbonded debt payment — $28,687;

• Bonded debt payment — $1.69 million;

• Building fund — none.

According to school district documents, to provide for the proposed budget of expenditures, the board proposes a total school tax rate (state and local) of 43.35 mills on the dollar of the assessed value of taxable property located in the school district. A district financial document states the proposed tax includes the current rate of 25 mills to be collected on all taxable property in the state and remitted to the state to be used solely for maintenance and operation of schools in the Arkansas.

The total proposed school tax levy of 43.35 mills includes 25.16 mills specifically voted for general maintenance and operation and 18.19 mills voted for debt service previously voted as a continuing levy pledged for the retirement of existing bonded indebtedness, according to district documents. The surplus revenues produced each year by debt service millage may be used by the district for other school purposes.

The school board election will be Sept. 18.

Tackett announced two board members’ seats are on ballot: zone 1, position 3, currently held by Ray Kelleybrew, and zone 3, position 2, currently held by Rick Pennington. Pennington doesn’t plan to seek re-election. Kelleybrew plans to seek re-election.

There are several election-related dates on the horizon.

The first day candidates filing by petition could begin circulating petition was June 11. The petition must have a minimum of 20 signatures from registered voters.

The first day candidates filing by petition can file the petition with the county clerk and the first day a write-in candidate can file notice of intent to be a candidate is July 3. The deadline to file the petition with the county clerk and for a write-in candidate to file a notice of intent to be a candidate is at noon July 10.

The next regular board meeting will be at 6 p.m. July 16 in the administration office.