The Lonoke School Board honored eight retirees during a special board meeting Monday night.

Those retiring include primary school teachers Mary Johnson, Susan Lilly and Gay Campbell, primary custodian Charles Miller, middle school cafeteria workers Linda Tanner and DeEster Value, middle school custodian Peggy Williams and primary and elementary music teacher Maribeth Alexander.

A reception for the retirees, who were each presented an engraved silver tray, was held in the high school library. Following the reception, the board reconvened in the board room at the central office.

The board approved the contract to replace the heating, ventilation and air conditioning at the primary school.

The board also approved a revision of the classified salary schedule and school choice transfers.

The board went into executive session to consider resignations and hirings. After a lengthy closed session, the board reconvened and accepted the resignations of the following teachers:

•Sherry McCarty, high school business

•Michelle Reed, high school cafeteria manager

•Stacy Evans, sixth grade science

•Yvonne Webb, second grade

The board also hired the following teachers:

•Jennifer Wilson, speech therapist

•Alex Moeller, high school plato lab facilitator

•Nicholina Shelton, HIPPY home-based educator

•Margaret Ashburn, high school and middle school music

•Rachel Whittenburg, pimrary and elementary school music

The board also voted to make athletic director and high school girls basketball coach Nathan Morris also the District Support Services Coordinator and Amanda Rather, who is currently the district coordinator, will now be the District Administrator/Coordinator.

The board apporved an eight-period class day for high school, which will match the master schedule at the middle school, which had been on an eight-period day for more than a decade.

School board members present were Matt Boyles, Karen James, Tony Kelleybrew, Mike Brown, Darrell Park, Eddie Pennington and Johnie Watson.