The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) awarded certificates and degrees May 20 to 942 graduates of its five colleges and graduate school during its commencement ceremony at Verizon Arena in North Little Rock.

Degrees were presented to 163 in the College of Medicine; 265 in the College of Nursing; 123 in the College of Pharmacy; 44 in the Fay W. Boozman College of Public Health; 62 in the Graduate School; and 285 in the academic programs that make up the College of Health Professions.

UAMS Chancellor Dan Rahn, M.D., presented a Chancellor’s Teaching Award to Charles M. Quick, M.D., an associate professor in the UAMS College of Medicine’s Department of Pathology; and Nicholas Long, Ph.D., a professor in the College of Medicine’s Department of Pediatrics.

Quick, who received the award for Teaching Excellence, started at UAMS in 2011 as an assistant professor and was promoted to associate professor in 2016. He earned his medical degree and completed his residency at UAMS. He completed fellowships in surgical pathology and women’s and perinatal pathology at UAMS and Harvard Medical School, respectively.

“I have witnessed his energy, enthusiasm, skill, expertise and inspiration as he has transformed medical education in pathology for our students and residents,” said Jennifer Hunt, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Pathology. “Not only does he inspire his students each and every day with his amazing teaching, but he also inspires our faculty in their own educational initiatives.”

Long, who received the award for Society and Health Education Excellence, joined UAMS in 1987 after earning his doctorate in clinical psychology at the University of Georgia. He serves as the director of Pediatric Psychology in the Department of Pediatrics at UAMS and Arkansas Children’s Hospital.

“Dr. Long is a remarkable educator who has made a highly significant and unique impact on addressing societal and health issues through interprofessional training,” said Richard F. Jacobs, M.D., professor and chairman of the Department of Pediatrics, in a nominating letter. “I can think of no one more deserving of this award.”

All UAMS faculty and staff were presented the Chancellor’s Award for their contributions and commitment to excellence through a period of transformational change at UAMS. Leaders of the UAMS Academic Senate and House of Delegates accepted the award.

This was the final commencement for Rahn, M.D., who will retire in July after serving as UAMS chancellor since November 2009.

During commencement, degrees and certificates conferred include the doctor of philosophy, doctor of medicine, doctor of pharmacy, doctor of nursing practice, master of science, master of nursing science, bachelor of science in nursing, master of public health, doctor of public health, certificate in clinical and translational science, master of health administration, postbaccalaureate certificate in public health and a variety of degrees in allied health disciplines including certificates, associate and bachelor of science degrees, postbaccalaureate certificates, master of imaging sciences, master of physician assistant studies and doctor of audiology.

The following are graduates of the five UAMS colleges and graduate school who authorized the release of their name and hometown. Graduates are divided by college and hometown unless otherwise noted.

UAMS College of Medicine

The following graduates received their Doctor of Medicine (M.D.) degree.


Joseph Brett McCutcheon

William M. Peckat

Kimberly Yoojin Reynolds

Kelsey Ann Sparks

North Little Rock

Kristin Michelle Mitchell

UAMS College of Nursing

The following graduates received either a Bachelor of Science in Nursing (B.S.N.), a Master of Science in Nursing (M.N.Sc.) or a Doctor of Nursing Practice (D.N.P.) degree.


Laken Kayla Koonce


Lara Beth Gore

Micale Elizabeth Kocke

Lorin Elizabeth Munford

Courtney D. Owen

Kayla Travis

Destiny Rose Wooley


Brandi Jay Duncan

Debbie Diane Laws


Cheyenne White

UAMS College of Health Professions

Associate of Science in Radiologic Imaging Sciences

Katelyn Spicer — Austin

Bachelor of Science in Cardio Respiratory Care

Rachel Nicole Cockrum — Cabot

Emily Mechelle Murphy — Cabot

Mallory Leann Singleton — Carlisle

Bachelor of Science in Cytotechnology

Kassie Shepard — Cabot

Bachelor of Science in Dental Hygiene

Leah Celeste Harrison — Cabot

Tiffany Diane Myers — Carlisle

Bachelor of Science in Diagnostic Medical Sonography

Allison Williams — Cabot

Bachelor of Science in Health Information Administration

Lynsey Michelle Wilkins — Cabot

Master of Physician Assistant Studies

Daniel Ring — Cabot

Post Baccalaureate Certificate in Dietetics and Nutrition

Hannah Elisabeth Perry — North Little Rock

UAMS Fay W. Boozman College of Public Health

The following graduates are listed by degree program.

Master of Health Administration

Chase A. Cooper — Lonoke

The following graduates are listed by degree program.

Doctor of Philosphy (Ph.D.)

Marcia A. Byers — Cabot