Cabot High school students will showcase their intellect this Saturday in the annual Arkansas Governor’s Academic Competition at the Arkansas Educational Television Network studio.

Cabot will face off against Conway in the Arkansas Quiz Bowl in the final event of the day.

Broken up into seven classifications, Cabot and Conway are in 7A and will be in the afternoon session.

Preceeding their competition will be 1A’s Norfork vs. Haas Hall Academy Bentonville and 2A’s Conway Christian vs. Cotter with the session starting at 1:30 p.m.

This Saturday is also prom in Cabot.

Team members are: Seniors Sharjeel Hyder, who is also captain, Jared Gilliam, Christen Johnson, Trinity Chapa, Ty Copeland, Presley Mullins, Lucas Southard, Joseph Sepulveda, Amin Nadirali and Ian Frisby. Juniors Aleigha Smith, Jonah Frisby and Connor Pearson. Sophomores Vinny Gemmiti, Cole Fulmer and Samantha Oliver.

Coaches are Wes Davis and Pam Holt.

All games are broadcast from AETN, and scholarship money will be awarded.

The first round of matches beginning at 9 a.m. will include in order of appearance:

4A – Highland vs. Huntsville.

5A – Harrison vs. Nettleton

3A – Haas Hall Academy Fayetteville vs. Centerpoint

6A – Russellville vs. Benton.

The public is invited to be a part of the audience at the AETN studios, 350 South Donaghey Ave., in Conway, and will be seated on a first come, first served basis. Spectators will be admitted via the main entrance on Beatrice Powell and should arrive no later than 8:30 a.m. for the first round and 1 p.m. for the second round.

“Quiz Bowl” is a celebration and recognition of scholarship that has been an AETN tradition since 1985. In a series of questions, players must display their knowledge in literature, math, science, history, art, music and economics.